Wednesday Wisdom

Wednesday Wisdom: Getting Faster

In case you couldn’t tell from my past blog posts, I’m obsessed with getting faster at running.  I finally broke 30 minutes in my most recent 5k (well technically I broke 29 minutes, but who’s counting?) and now that I know I’m capable of running faster I plan on doing a lot more speed training in my workouts.  I found this article that gives 3 speed workouts for beginners:  fartlek, tempo, and interval workouts.

Usually when I run, I just run at the same general speed throughout the workout, with a focus on getting a negative split (running faster in the second half).  Yesterday I decided to try doing fartleks during my workout.  The really cool thing about this type of workout is that you can completely dictate how hard/fast/frequently you want to speed up.  It kept me focused on the scenery – should I sprint to that tree? – and took the focus off how I felt while I was running.  In fact, it was one of the few runs I’ve ever done where I didn’t feel sick to my stomach at all.  I felt so good when I was finished, and I managed to do the hilly course in 30:02, which is the second fastest I’ve ever done it in!  I’m thinking that it will hopefully make me faster over time too.  I highly recommend trying this during your next workout if you’re trying to get faster!

fartlek

 

Do you do speed workouts?  What’s your favorite?

11 thoughts on “Wednesday Wisdom: Getting Faster

    1. I hate structured workouts, so for now I’m sticking to fartleks. I hate feeling like I’m back in high school field hockey trying to do the daily workouts! I think the idea of training takes a bit of fun out of running, but I’ve got to get faster somehow!

  1. I do a lot on HIIT (high intensity interval training) all winter long while I’m stuck inside. During the summer I do hill workouts. I’ve been inclined to add both fartlek (suggested for triathletes like me!) and tempo runs, but I just haven’t gotten that far yet.

    1. Ugh you just made me realize that pretty soon I’ll be doing most of my runs on the treadmill – I don’t think fartleks will be fun when you can’t “see” the end point of the speed portion! I need more winter running clothes!

  2. I enjoy fartlek work outs- like you I like to look around me at the scenery! I hate hill reps and tempo runs though 🙂

  3. Good for you! I’m trying to finish my first half without worrying about my speed, but I definitely want to work on it post 13.1 so I can run some speedy(er) 5Ks 😀

    1. Yeah, when I do my first half I won’t even care how fast I run – just that I finished! But 5ks are my nemesis and I want to constantly beat my old times!

Leave a Reply

