Disney Princess Half Marathon

My Half Marathon-iversary

Hi everyone!  Today I realized something pretty crazy:  one year ago, I wasn’t a half marathoner.  I didn’t know what it felt like to run 13.1 miles or if I could even do it.  And I hadn’t run in a mermaid costume yet.

20140225-231521.jpg

Exactly one year ago today, I was on my way to Disney World for my very first half marathon:  the Disney Princess Half.  It was the race that really started my interest in becoming a runner.  It was the biggest running goal I’d ever had and it was such an incredible experience running it in 2014.  I’ll never forget how I felt in the days leading up to the half:  scared, nervous, super aware of how much water I was drinking, completely horrified by the heat and humidity, exhausted from not sleeping the night before, and finally just in shock that I was actually standing in corral G with fireworks going off and 25,000 running princesses around me!  It wasn’t the best race by any means (check out the recap for more details on what I didn’t love about it), but it was very special to me.  You’ll never forget your first half marathon!  For those of you who are heading down to Florida this week for your first (or seventh!) Disney Princess Half, check out these links to my favorite posts about the race:

I can’t believe it’s been an entire year!  I’m getting pretty emotional just thinking about how it felt to cross my first half marathon finish line.  I’ve crossed 3 others since then and had different experiences with each, but I’m getting so excited to finish half #5 next month.  To all the ladies running this weekend, good luck and have a blast!  I can’t wait to see all of your costumes and hear all about it!

20140225-231603.jpgOfficially a half marathoner!

Have you ever run the Disney Princess Half?  What was your favorite part?  And which princess did you dress up as?

24 thoughts on “My Half Marathon-iversary

    1. You should definitely run it! It’s definitely a fun race and not a serious, PR kind of race. The best part is dressing up and then checking out everyone else’s costumes.

  1. Awww, I remember when you were getting ready for that race. 🙂 You did AWESOME! My first was Princess 2012 in a Jasmine inspired outfit.

  2. Aw happy anniversary! I went through the same this past December when I had the anniversary of my first half too. It’s crazy how adaptable our bodies are and what they can learn to do. I never thought I would be able to run a half and I’ve run two in a year! Someday, I hope to run a full marathon!

    1. Me too! I ran 4 half marathons last year and it was a lot for me! I’m thinking 3 this year should be enough for me. Next year I’m really thinking about the Philly Marathon though…

Leave a Reply

