Uncategorized

Her Tern Half Training: Week 4

Hi everyone! This post is coming to you from the eternally sunny city of Fairbanks, Alaska! I’ll have a full post about our weekend trip up soon, but for now let’s take a look at this week of training:

Monday: a few hours of disc golf in hilly Kincaid Park with my husband. 

Pigeon pose on the course for some extra stretching!

Tuesday: I decided to double up on workouts today and took a Pilates class at noon and then went to the pub run with my other GOTR coach. The Pilates/running combo did not go well – I was exhausted and the entire back of my legs hurt from my hips down to my calves.

Wednesday: this is when the craziness began. I woke up sooooo sore in my glutes and hamstrings, and I realized my rest days have been nonexistent. But I couldn’t really skip my Wednesday group speed run at the track, so I powered through it and did four sets of 5:00 tempo runs at the same pace! Yay! Afterwards I could tell I was going to be even more sore, so I took an ice bath. More on this later, but for now I’ll say that it was hard but probably worth it.  

 Thursday: so much glute/hip flexor pain. I did all of the #LoveYourHips challenge yoga poses in a row and it helped with the hips but not the glutes. 

Friday: I had the day off, so I went to my very first flow yoga class at the most popular yoga studio in town. I just felt so tight and really needed to stretch. The class was in a heated room and despite sweating my face off, I came out of there so stretched out and in no pain at all! It was magical. I always feel sore after Pilates, and now I’m tempted to switch back to yoga because it felt so good!

Saturday: we drove up to Fairbanks all day and I got to rest in the car. Since taking that yoga class my hips felt awesome, but my glutes still felt pinched and painful occasionally. 

Sunday: we spent some time walking around Fairbanks, and then kayaked down the Chena River! But still no running although my pain is almost totally gone.  

 Some thoughts about this week: I decided to skip my attempt at a long run in favor of some rest days and I’m glad I did. I am beginning to feel 100% better and I’m going to take it easy next week and hopefully will be able to get right back on track. I think the reason for the glute and hip flexor pain is Pilates – I know that I accidently use my hip flexors sometimes, and a lot of the exercises use glutes and hamstrings and I think between Pilates and running they’re being overused.  And I also think I need to make sure to take real rest days and tone it down with the hiking/strenuous activities that I do on non-running days. Sigh. I think I need to change things up if I want to avoid a real injury this training session!

Do you ever have to take accidental rest days while training? Have you ever been injured from cross training? Has yoga helped you stay injury free?

5 thoughts on “Her Tern Half Training: Week 4

  1. I would love to make it to yoga more (especially hot yoga!) because it does help stretch me out well, but I just can’t make the time for it. I try to stretch out really well after every run, especially long runs, and that does help, but I’m pretty much always tight.

Leave a Reply

