Living in Alaska · Travel

Visiting Fairbanks

Hi everyone!  As I mentioned in yesterday’s week 4 training recap, we spent our long Memorial Day weekend in Fairbanks, Alaska!  We had been thinking about camping somewhere for the weekend but noticed as the weekend grew closer that it was going to be raining everywhere that we wanted to camp.  We decided to check out the weather up north in Fairbanks, and it looked sunny and warm.  And we’d never been there before!  So we threw together some last minute plans and headed out on Saturday morning.

There are three main things you need to know about Fairbanks:

1.  It’s the northernmost city in the US, which means that in the summer months the sunlight is seriously crazy.  The sunset times don’t really seem to matter because it never gets dark this time of year.  I kind of should have thought more about this since I was sleeping in a thin tent…

IMG_5371The sun level at bedtime.  Note that the sun is still actively shining.

2.  It’s in the interior of Alaska, which is pretty flat.  That makes the climate very unique – this is the place in Alaska that gets -30 and below in the winter, but in the summer it can go up to 90 degrees!  And NO HUMIDITY!

IMG_5369

3.  Mosquitos.  They’re all over this state, but holy mosquitos up there.  They were in clouds.

On the 6 hour drive up there we were able to stop in Talkeetna for lunch at the famous Roadhouse, and then again outside Denali National Park for a beer at 49th State Brewing Company, which we drank outside in 80 degree sunshine.  It was at this brewery 2 years ago that Andrew and I had our first serious talk about moving up here, so it was awesome to get to go back!

Once we got to Fairbanks, I was surprised to see how flat the city was – no tall buildings, no mountains.  It was mostly farmland around the city!  I was also horrified by the amount of mosquitos at our campsite and I’m pretty sure they ate my entire body by the time we were done setting up.  We spent the night hiding in our tent trying to sleep under the midnight sun.  Not the best start.  But it was okay because we woke up bright and early the next day to cross something off my bucket list:  Visiting North Pole, Alaska!

IMG_5399

IMG_5384

IMG_5380

 

Santa let me take a selfie!  And then when I asked him why I never got that pony I always ask for, he just told me to keep asking.  So I wrote my mom a post card (stamped with the North Pole postmark!) asking her to buy me one this year  🙂

All of the street lights in the town were candy canes, and the streets were named after Christmas stuff!  I am obsessed with Christmas so I had way too much fun there, although it’s a really small town.  After lunch downtown, we headed out to the Trans-Alaskan pipeline to act like tourists.  It passes right by the highway!

IMG_5407

IMG_5404

Because there was basically no hiking in the immediate area, we ended our afternoon at Pioneer Park.  It’s a touristy area of town where you can look at the oldest buildings in Fairbanks, all of which are only about 100 years old.  We were starting to get bored until I discovered that we could rent kayaks from a company at the park!  We were able to kayak 7 miles down the Chena river.  It was a really lazy, calm river and we had so much fun floating by all the beautiful houses in the warm sun.

IMG_5427

IMG_5416

On Monday we woke up at 5:30 am to rain, and between getting wet and the mosquitos trying to murder us as we packed up our tent it was not a fun morning.  But the drive back to Anchorage was fun and I’m glad to be back home!

Overall, if you are thinking of flying into Alaska and don’t know which city to chose, I’d go with Anchorage.  We have the ocean and the mountains, and I just feel like it’s closer to much more fun things like the Kenai Peninsula and awesome hiking trails and has way more stuff to do.  But in the winter Fairbanks has the Chena Hot Springs and the northern lights, so it may be worth it for some people.  I’m not sure if we’ll ever make the long trip back up there but we had a fun time exploring the north!  The best part was finally making it to the final mile marker of the Alaskan Highway, one year and 1523 miles later.  So much has changed and I’m glad we finally got to finish our journey north!

IMG_5410

Where’s the farthest north you have ever been?  How did you spend your labor day weekend?

17 thoughts on “Visiting Fairbanks

  1. I had a super lazy holiday weekend, just movie marathons and a bit of cleaning up my house. Your weekend looks like it was so much fun! Except maybe the mosquito part…no thanks!

    Michigan has a town called Christmas, complete with Christmas-y street names. Although calling it a town is a bit of a stretch–it is TINY!

    1. That’s awesome! Yeah, this town was suuuuper tiny, but I loved that it really stuck to the Christmas theme! Your weekend sounds so much more relaxing than mine 🙂

  2. This sounds like such a fun trip! Minus the mosquitoes, anyway. The farthest north I’ve been (by eyeballing a map anyway) is Edinburgh… in the States it’s hard to tell… maybe Belfast, Maine? I do remember being in York (England) in June a few years back and having it be sunny out until 10 or 11 pm and being blown away by how weird that felt! It must have been extra weird farther north in Fairbanks!

    1. York sounds a lot like Anchorage…except it stays light out past midnight here. It’s really strange but also totally awesome! I just forgot that my tent isn’t made of the same material as blackout curtains and it was hard to sleep 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a good adventure, although I LOATHE mosquitoes. The furthest north I’ve been in North America is Montreal, but I definitely want to visit Alaska at some point.

    1. That’s awesome! I’ve always wanted to go there, and now it’s so far away. You should definitely come up here sometime in the summer, it’s so awesome! But our mosquitos are pretty intense.

  4. So pretty! Someday I’d love to make it to Alaska. I’m always so jealous when I hear about people going up there because it looks so beautiful! I think the farthest north I’ve been is the San Juan Islands off of Washington, almost in Canada. It was beautiful there, too!

    1. Alaska is pretty awesome, not gonna lie 🙂 The San Juan Islands sound really cool! I always wanted to go there until we moved to Alaska and had easy access to whale watching in Seward. The whole pacific northwest area is so pretty and I love visiting there!

  5. Your selfie with Santa is the cutest thing ever!
    The weather over there looks way much better than in Belgium.
    Awesome pictures. It made me want to go there, in spite of the mosquitos.
    #sweatpink

    1. Haha thanks! I was so excited he let me take a selfie! I mean, I was the only other person there haha. The weather was nice and warm with no humidity which was awesome, but the mosquitos were not. I’ll take Anchorage over Fairbanks any day!

Leave a Reply

