Injury · Ragnar · Running

My Year of Running: 2015

Hi everyone!  Today is an extra special day:  not only is it my husband’s birthday, I’M GOING HOME TONIGHT!  I seriously can’t believe it’s finally happening!  I’ll be in Philly by 5 pm tomorrow and celebrating Christmas with my family.  I’ve got a few long plane rides ahead of me, but I’m hoping to get a lot of reading done and maybe a bit of sleep?  Yeah right!  Anyways, since it’s officially the start of Christmas break, it’s time for me to take a look back on 2015!  It was a crazy year of running.  Let’s take a look at what I did:

Number of races I ran:  11:  3 half marathons, 3 relay races, 1 12k, 1 5 miler, 2 5ks and 1 4k.

Number of states I ran in:  4, plus the Yukon in Canada!

Miles ran:  458 as of today.  I have a few more runs scheduled on my training plan, so that number might jump up a bit more.  I was so close to my goal of 500 miles and would have definitely done it if I hadn’t been injured for all of November and most of December!

Oh, that pesky injury.  It took up a big part of my year, although for most of it I didn’t realize how big the injury was.  Ugh.  It is something that has recently been taking up most of my time and energy to deal with, but I had so many really great things happen with running this year and I can’t let the injury overshadow them!  So today I’m linking up with the fabulous Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC for her Year of Running Link Up!  Check out my answers to her questions below, and link up with her to share your year!

Eat Pray Run DC

Best race experience:  My very first Ragnar Relay in Colorado!  I would do a Ragnar again in a heartbeat.  Running the last leg of that race was amazing and was so much easier than I ever imagined it could be.  Even with barely any sleep it was a great time!

ragnarfinishTeam Cirque Du Sore Legs waiting for runner #12 at the finish in Snowmass!

Best run:  The Twilight 12k back in May!  It was my first nighttime race, which meant that I was running at my favorite time of day when I had the most energy.  I ran so much faster than I’d planned and could not believe my time when I crossed the finish line!  Plus I saw like everyone in Anchorage on the course so I felt like it was one giant party that took me all over town and ended with pizza  🙂

twilight12k finish

Best new piece of running gear:  My ASICS Kayanos!  Love love love them!  They’re all I wore in 2015 and I’m definitely buying a pair to stud for winter 2016!

running shoes

Best running advice you’ve received this year:  To strengthen my hips through cross training and strength training.  My PT told me that.  You should all listen to him.

Most inspirational runner:  Honestly, it’s a tie!  I was inspired by how my coach, Suz, qualified for the Boston Marathon this year and is currently working her way through an injury to possibly make it to the race in 2016.  And I loved reading Kaella’s first marathon recap so much that I feel like it deserves a spot here!  After reading it, I knew I had to do a marathon in 2016.

Favorite picture from a run or race this year:  After my first injury scare back in January, I went on to run the Zion Half Marathon in March and was just so excited to finish!  I’m pretty sure this is the most beautiful finish line on earth.

IMG_4298

Race experience you would repeat in a heartbeat:  The Columbia Gorge Half!  It was the first and only half marathon where I felt great the entire time, including the end!  My awesome sugar-free diet definitely helped with that, and I’m going to be getting right back at it in 2016 because it just makes me feel better all the time – and especially when I’m running!

IMG_6985No one should look this happy at mile 8 of a half marathon!

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words what would they be?  Exciting, scary, and full of big lessons.  I had so many exciting running adventures (Zion, Ragnar, and Klondike to name a few), but my injury was pretty scary for me because it made me realize that I was doing this running thing all wrong.  Which brings me to my last word:  this is something I needed in order to grow as a runner this year.  I had to learn to listen to the advice of my HTH training group coaches and my PT in order to get better at running.  It’s not fun to go through tough times, but it does make me a better runner overall.

So there you have it!  My year in running was definitely a memorable one, and I’m excited to see what 2016 has in store for me!  I’ve got some big goals (which I’ll talk about next week), but my main one is just to be injury free and stronger than I was this year.

How was your year in running?  How many races did you run, and which one was your favorite?

20 thoughts on “My Year of Running: 2015

  1. This coming year is going to be even better! We are identifying weakness and working to correct them. Thank you so much for the mention, and I love that you are also inspired by Kaella, a fellow Coach Suz athlete! You all remind me a lot of each other–loving life and ready for a challenge. I am so excited about working with you this year.
    Oh, and Ragnar is so much freaking fun 😀

    1. Aww yay! I hope I someday run a marathon and enjoy it as much as she did! That recap was amazing! Also, we need to do a Ragnar together someday. Like with everyone you coach. Just saying 🙂

  2. Wow congratulations on such an amazing running year! It was so fun to read about it all year long too. Hopefully 2016 is just as fun! I ran my first half marathon this year so it was a monumental year in running over here!

  3. Thank you so much for including me!! You’re so sweet!! I can’t wait to watch YOU accomplish your marathon dreams this year and, of course, probably cry reading your race recap 😉

    I’m so happy we connected online!!! Now, get your butt to Canada one of these days so we can run together 😉 Or, maybe we should just both try and get to Chicago and hang with Coach Suz!!! 😀

    1. Of course! I had to include your recap, it was so inspiring! Also, I really hope I can run one next year, especially with this injury. We’ll see what happens! And I did run in Canada already – just in the middle of nowhere outside of Whitehorse 🙂 I wouldn’t mind heading over to Chicago though, I haven’t run there yet!

  4. Sounds like a great year despite the injury! Both Ragnar and the Zion Half sound amazing! I hope to do a Ragnar relay sometime. Running in Zion sounds so much fun! It is very beautiful there!

Leave a Reply

