HIking · Swim · Training · Triathlon · Weekend

GNT Training: Week 2

Hi everyone!  Week #2 of Gold Nugget Triathlon training went pretty well, but I definitely needed an extra rest day this week.  I haven’t trained for a race since last fall, so I guess it’s something I needed to ease into!

Monday:  I did 30 minutes of swimming at my gym, which mostly ended up being 30 minutes of me dodging kids who weren’t being supervised and decided to stand in the middle of my lane and stare at me as I swam around them.  Remind me not to go swimming for at least an hour after open swim anymore.

Tuesday:  Swim class.  I fully swam freestyle for the first time ever today which was crazy exciting!

Wednesday:  My plan was for spin class, but it turned into a rest day.  I think I went to bed at 8 pm because I was so tired!

Thursday:  Swim class.  They taught me how to use my arms correctly, so I feel like there’s so much I need to think about now.  But my coaches were really happy with how everything looks, and they challenged me to do a full 50 without stopping – and I could!  I’m still struggling to keep calm about my breathing but I’m really happy with the progress I’m making!

Friday:  Rest day again because I was getting my hair cut!  I probably took off like 8 inches which is a huge change for me.

Saturday:  The snow and ice is finally all gone, so I went disc golfing with friends.  It was so much fun and my arm was so sore the next day!

img_0965

Sunday:  I was planning on doing a super easy run/walk, but then I decided that I really needed to go for a hike instead.  So we did 6 miles on the Turnagain Arm Trail.  It was gorgeous, and we saw a bear and a moose which were both terrifying.  Luckily neither animal cared that we were out there, but I was glad to get home safely!

img_0968

This week, I’m planning on actually making it to spin class and to also ride my bike outside!  I ordered a new road bike from Amazon and I should get it on Wednesday.  I can’t wait to try it out!  This week’s triathlon questions include:

  • What must-have gear do you need for a bike (other than a helmet of course)?  I know I’m supposed to get some kind of emergency kit to fix stuff, any suggestions on which one to get?  And are gloves necessary?
  • Where did you buy your tri kit and what do you like/don’t like about it?  I’ve decided to get one to wear throughout the whole race but don’t want to pay a fortune.  I’m leaning towards a Zoot kit from the REI outlet which is on a killer sale, but since I can’t try any on in person I’m afraid to make the purchase!  If I’m a size small or medium in most of my workout clothes, I’m probably a large in tri gear, right?
  • What do you do to warmup during a swim practice?  I feel like I go all out the whole time and it’s probably a big part of why I’m always exhausted and out of breath!  So what’s the “walk” equivalent to warming up in the pool?

How was your weekend?  Did you do any hiking?  I want to hear all about it!

13 thoughts on “GNT Training: Week 2

  1. I’m really enjoying reading about your training! I have always thought about triathlon, but have never done much of the biking or swimming. My husband just bought me a bike for my birthday, so I’m excited to start using it. Sorry I can’t answer any of your questions, but like I said, I am learning a lot from reading about your experiences, so thank you!

    1. Oh that’s so good to hear! I feel like I’m just writing about how much of a confused mess I am, so it’s good to know that at least someone is getting something out of it 🙂

  2. That’s so awesome that you saw a moose and bear on your hike! I miss spending my summers in Alaska and seeing all of the wildlife. There isn’t much here in Kansas. I spent my weekend backpacking in Nebraska. It is beautiful for the mid-west, but it’s certainly no Alaska.

    Congrats on another week of tri-training!

  3. Good evening Kristen! I my weekend doing a whole lot of nothin’. It was good, as I am still trying to recover from the knee injuries incurred during the race a couple of weeks ago.

    Also, had dinner with my family (parents were in town from Ontario), and met my new nephew. So a meal filled with joy!!!

    Other than that I finished some cleaning in my apartment, bought myself a shirt from Inknburn, and a 10 visit pass for Vancouver Parks Board. So looks like we both have goodies coming in the mail!!!! You gave me a great idea with all this talk about swimming, so I figured I would try using swimming for cross-training in this recovery.

    Looks like Alaska does not disappoint when it comes to the views, good deal!

    Have a wonderful day,
    Adam.

  4. Sounds like training is going really well! I love seeing your questions to other triathletes because these are all things I think about too, and a bit reason why I’m not sure I’ll ever do a tri. P.S, I love your haircut!

  5. 1. For a flat kit, you just need a spare tube, tire levers, and a hand pump or co2 cartridges. A dollar bill is also a great thing to keep in there for a quick fix. I have a full how to fix a flat in my tri talk Tuesday page on my blog.
    2. Zoot is a great brand! I wear Zoot running and tri shoes exclusively and own a kit by them. Also check out the 2XU outlet website. They have some killer deals!
    3. I’m terrible at warming up in the pool. I tend to need a few hundred yards before I slow down and find a rhythm. I usually start with 50’some then build up my distance once I start to settle. Sorry I don’t have any better advice for you on that one!

    You’re doing great!

    1. Oh I am so checking out your blog for tips! I’m glad you recommend Zoot, I’m hoping it fits me when it comes in! I was so worried about sizing – the reviews all said to go 2 sizes up so I got a large, but I’m sure I could exchange it in time. And I’m slowly trying to figure out how to warm up. I did a better job than usual today, so I’m hoping I can keep that up!

Leave a Reply

